Dance over me

“You dance over me, while I am unaware”

This morning in Central Illinois was extremely peaceful for me.  This is a rarity in my life, let me tell you why…

#1: I’m in general a pretty anxious person

#2 I have 3 amazing, beautiful, wonderful, perfectly healthy active children whom I am blessed to stay home with (that means they are home with me all day)

#3 Those children, and myself, and my husband and one very large labrador actually live in our house, so therefore there are many muddy paw prints, clothes to be washed, dishes to be cleaned, you know normal life stuff

However, this morning I woke up at my normal 4:15am, headed off to crossfit and as I walked out of my car into the gym it began to snow, since that moment we have been getting this unexpected, soft, continuous, pretty white snowfall that is just blanketing the ground and I’m loving it.  My girls asked me to make them the “good pancakes” mommy makes, so we made some pink ones and I turned my Apple music onto Elevation worship and I heard this song for the first time by Desperation Band called “Amazed” and the very beginning caught me off guard.  It caught me so much that I started the song over 3 times to hear it again.

img_2389

  Maybe before I continue you should know something about me.  I like to celebrate.  Nope…I LOVE to celebrate.  I love hosting birthday parties, baby showers, spending New Year’s Eve with my family in a hotel, watching the fireworks on the 4th of July.  It really doesn’t take much for me to get excited.  Especially if I work hard for something or somebody I care about has been working diligently towards a goal.  Immediately when I heard these words my brain made the connection to crossfit because this morning some friends at the gym had helped me to work on this toe to bar move.

 Check it out below if you’re clueless, and don’t feel bad about it because I was a few months ago too 😉

toe-tobar

And after some practice, I got one and I wanted to jump up and down, because this crossfit crap is HARD.  At least for me it’s hard.   When I work at something, or I see others struggle through something, or when I watch my child tie her shoe for the first time, do I celebrate with them? You bet I do! I jump up and down, I clap, I cheer for them. Because when we overcome something, we deserve to celebrate.

 I had never imagined that Jesus, the Creator of the universe did that for us.  That He literally dances over us.  He celebrates us and our accomplishments.  He watches our every move and He is proud of us.  And the more I thought about this, the more I loved it.  Because not only does He celebrate when we overcome hardships like depression or working through hard times in a marriage, or choosing to take steps toward overcoming an addiction.  He dances over us and is proud when I make the choice to love on my children or to show kindness to my spouse.  He’s proud when we treat our body like a temple or when we show patience or self-control when we don’t want to at all.  Great title for the song right? Amazed.  I’m completely amazed that the God who Created everything would dance over me 🙂 I don’t know about you but it makes me want to live in a way that is worth dancing for.

god5

Leave a Reply

