How many days is the messy bun acceptable?

Before you decide on your response to that, let me fill you in on my past week. In our household we are currently remodeling a bathroom…the only bathroom that has an outlet in it.  Who builds a house with 3 bathrooms and only one of them has an outlet?!  Yes, I’m extremely blessed to have 3 bathrooms but why in the world don’t the others have outlets?! (1st world problems Jami) I know, I COULD be getting ready in one of the other rooms in my house but I have this baby, who happens to be obsessed with cords at the moment, finding them, chewing on them, pulling them out of outlets, putting other things into outlets, anything that could be considered extremely dangerous, it’s his favorite pastime right now.  I’m on day 6 of a migraine that is deciding to stay long term….so, messy bun it is. Thank the Lord, they are somewhat in style, and I am somewhat near the age that they are considered cool for….I think 😉

151
Keeping the little guy safe and contained

 

Here in the Midwest, there’s a nasty case of the blues going around.  Okay, maybe I should say amongst several people I know, I won’t throw an entire section of the country under the bus.  I’m pretty sure it has to do with the fact that we had this fabulous non-existent winter followed by a February/March sprinkled with days that were sunny and near 60 degrees so what would seem logical is that April would consist of warmth and sunshine.  But no such luck. I’ve had many conversations that contained sentences like “I’m just not motivated”, “All I want to do is lay around”, “It’s not nice enough to get outside”.  And I’ve been guilty of them too.

 

eeyore

So, this week I started thinking…what can I do to change my attitude.  I took a few classes when I began teaching that focused on learning to differentiate what you can and can’t control and I will never forget them.  Focus on what you CAN control which honestly isn’t as much as you think.

Can I control the weather and the fact that it has A LOT to do with these migraines? nope

Can I control my lack of sleep and my little man’s nasty cold? nope

Can I control the absence of the sunshine also known as my BFF? nope

Can I control anything about this bathroom remodel? nope

Can I go back in time and put outlets into my bathrooms? nope

Can I control my diet, exercise and medication to ease migraines? yes

Can I take advantage of sleep when I can and make it a priority? yes

Can I control my attitude about the bathroom remodel? yes

Can I appreciate the rain? yes (okay maybe)

155
Even the tulips have gone back into hiding

What do you do to cheer yourself up or get motivated on gloomy days?  Spending time outside is always my go to literally to brighten my mood. I used to love spending a day shopping.  Not necessarily spending a ton of money but just getting a coffee and browsing around the mall…but a budget and 3 children has definitely changed that!  Now I enjoy  spending the day baking with my girls, going to the salon, playing games; anything to change up our routine a bit.

My husband and I recently purchased a treadmill and decided we are going to run a half marathon together in a month.  Setting a goal always gets me motivated so I’m excited to have that to look forward to! I’d love to hear any tips you have on getting through the  “April showers” seasons of your life!  Whether it is something you do to motivate yourself personally, within your family, through your career, spiritually, or within any other facet of your life!

Have a great day!

Sing to the Lord with thanksgiving; make music to our God with the harp. He covers the sky with clouds; he supplies the earth with rain and makes grass grow on the hills. He provides food for the cattle and for the young ravens when they call.

Psalms 147: 7-9

Leave a Reply

