A peek into our homeschool

I thought I’d share some pictures of what homeschool looks like for us.  Fortunately, we have a tri-level home so I’m able to use pretty much the entire basement area for our homeschool.  Being a past public school teacher, I love setting up my classroom at home 🙂  This is only our second year of homeschool and we began last year using this area as well, but the further along I progressed into my pregnancy, the more exhausting it was for me to continuously go up and down the stairs.  So we ended the year by doing school on our main level at the kitchen table.  I’m a fan of having a separate room because when I’m upstairs I tend to want to unload the dishwasher, pick up around the living room, clean the floors, or do any of the million other things I do in a day…we all can focus better in a room dedicated to school, plus it’s more fun! So here are some pictures of how I organize our school room/den.

Just imagine that horrible wood paneling is clean and white 🙂 That’s one of those projects we planned on doing a few years ago and haven’t gotten to yet!  Last year we had desks in our school room but the table is serving our purpose much better.  This way I can sit easily with the girls and they have room for their school supplies.

We keep our rules posted in the calendar area with the poems each lady is working on.  On the white board I try to keep info from whatever science/history unit we are doing.  This day I had my girls tell me what they knew about baby animals. And of course we have a seat for our little man if he needs a nap!

On my desk area I keep my lesson plans, portfolios for each of the girls and some manipulatives.  I also have a big container filled with crayons and markers if we need them.  (Each of my girls has their own pencil case as well) I gave each of my girls a cubbie area in that buffet to keep their materials in.  I keep teacher’s manuals and books in the center cubbie.  Of course there’s always coffee on the desk and nail polish remover to erase any permanent marker as needed!

One of my favorite ways to keep my little guy busy is with magnets.  His sisters love to take breaks to entertain him whenever I allow it! One of the things I love about homeschool is the activities my girls can do together like calendar time.  Each binder is differentiated for what they need but they are still able to collaborate on their weather and tally mark pages.  It’s so neat to watch my oldest teach her sister.

This is the bin I keep for my 4 year old.  My oldest is in first grade which requires a lot of diligence and one on one time with me so I try to keep activities available for miss Kealy.  I also try to make sure each day she and I have some alone time to read together. Some things I like to keep in these drawers are:

  • magnatiles
  • lacing cards
  • ABC puzzles
  • construction paper
  • glitter glue
  • wikki stix
  • play doh
  • do a dot markers
  • magnetic letters and animals
  • stamps
  • brain flakes

For my little one I absolutely cannot keep that all of these items out at once so I try to rotate every few weeks.  The top container has books that I know my first grader can read independently.  She loves adding books to this container since she is keeping a reading log for the year.

elfbaby

Our little man is loving to jump right now which is fantastic during school time.  Just this week he began crawling pretty quickly so he’s becoming a bit frustrated when he’s not free to explore.  I’ve been spending A LOT of time cleaning our floors!

That’s just a peek into our daily life as homeschoolers.  However, with a little guy who is changing almost daily, you never know what it will look like!

Behold, children are a heritage from the Lord, the fruit of the womb a reward. Like arrows in the hand of a warrior are children of one’s youth.  Blessed is the man who fills his quiver with them! He shall not be put to shame when he speaks with his enemies in the gate.

Psalm 127:3-5

Leave a Reply

