So there’s this girl…

So there’s this girl…

The first time I met little R, she was at the home of one of my closest friends. We were there for a birthday party and little R and her sister went to daycare with my girls but I didn’t really know either of them.  My oldest daughter Maia had bought a stuffed puppy that day with her own money.  It was a big deal since we had started chores and she was super proud to have it.  Needless to say, that puppy ventured to the birthday party with us.  Halfway through the night my Maia (hyper sensitive, complete opposite personality of her sparkler sister) came up to me crying saying that R took her puppy.  So, I went to chat with her and her new little buddy. (who I hadn’t ever met) The rest of the night they played together with that puppy.  R instantly struck me as the kind of girl who knows what she wants, and I love that trait in little ladies!

Little did I know how much she would become infused in my life. She became very sick with leukemia and spent a lot of the next few years at St. Jude. She was strong, fiesty and the sweetest child, who from my perspective never seemed sick.  Of course, I was not there day in and day out, but when I spent time with her she was full of joy, running, playing, laughing and lighting up the lives of all of those around her.

Reagan Wednesday 5k -102 Reagan Wednesday 5k -99 Reagan Wednesday 5k -50

Miss R passed away this past weekend and I can’t help but feel this incredible sense of peace and thankfulness that she was in my life and the lives of my family and friends. In her 6 years, she encouraged people to take better care of themselves, cherish their family members, raise money for St. Jude, be selfless, pray, give their finances, time and heart for something bigger than all of us. She didn’t just change the world while she was here, her life changed PEOPLE forever, which is making our world a better place.  Her mother (an incredible woman…words can’t describe her strength and wisdom in this situation) has a tattoo that says “Tomorrow is never promised”.  I just love that she gave her daughter that life, every opportunity to live life to the fullest and in the midst of all their trials, change the world.

For I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not worthy to be compared with the glory which shall be revealed in us.”

Romans 8:18

Leave a Reply

