Can we go to heaven today?

Yesterday was one of those days where I just woke up wanting to relax for the day; no school, no cleaning, no cooking, just sit around and watch TV (I can’t remember the last time I did that).  I had been battling this nasty sinus/cough whatever it is for a few weeks and I was exhausted, I even contemplated taking the day off from school, but I was prepared for the day and we had a test that I didn’t want to put off until Monday.  So, I decided we would start school a bit later.  I had been feeling rushed in the mornings as I was letting myself sleep in to try and heal from this cold, which led each day to begin a bit more frantically than I like it to.  I enjoy my peaceful morning time before the house is awake, and that just wasn’t my reality this week. I slowly made breakfast, had my morning coffee, put some serenity oil in my diffuser and read my Bible.  I tried to implement that peaceful time for a bit since my girls were playing wonderfully together and my little man was content cuddling me.  After I finished reading, I chatted on the phone with one of my very best friends for awhile which was well overdue.

Finally around 10:00am, we began school for the day, an hour and a half late.  We started working on a page my oldest daughter had from church that  focused on the new heaven.  The specific Bible verse this page referred to was Revelation 21:4.

He will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death or mourning, or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away. Rev. 21:4

As we read this, my sweet girls thought of several people in our life right now that this would be wonderful for.  I thought of how silly this little cold I had was in the grand scheme of things. We discussed family and friends who are currently struggling with illness or sadness. And in the midst of our conversation, one of my girls said something that shocked me.  She looked right at me, with excitement in her eyes and said “Mom, can I go to heaven today?!” What innocence….if there is a place better than this, why wouldn’t we go there? Duh.  After I explained to her that she would have to pass away for that to happen (which would break Mommy’s heart) unless Jesus returned today, I thought about the hope she had and how simple she made Christianity.  To her, there is a heaven, it’s better than Earth, therefore our desire should be to make that home.  If only we all lived every day like that, going about our lives in a way that would ensure we were in heaven and all those around us were as well when the time came.  I love how this verse gives hope no matter what situation you are in, if you believe in your Creator and live the way He designed you to, all of your struggles, frustrations, heart breaks, will be over one day and you will be somewhere better.

Leave a Reply

