Little Red

090

“Knock knock”

“Who’s there?”

“Door”

“Door who?”

“I have a secret!”

My sweet 4 year old thinks she is hilarious,

and she is most of the time.  She’s our middle child and in case you didn’t notice by the photo, she’s a red head.  A beautiful red head. It breaks my heart that one day she might not appreciate those gorgeous locks.  She has completely intrigued me lately because she is….trying to figure out how to describe her personality accurately to you here, let’s just say strong willed.

As a matter of fact, she has been since before she was born.  We had this little darling’s name set to be Emma before we even knew her gender.  As my pregnancy went on, I looked at the hubby one day and said “I don’t think we can name her Emma.  To me, Emma is the kind of name for a sweet, quiet girl who reads for fun, enjoys art maybe, Emma isn’t going to suit this one.”  (For the record, I don’t think I even knew an Emma growing up, I just had that image in my head for some reason) My grandfather teased me that the reason she was so active in utero was because I continued to run throughout the entire pregnancy. I sure needed my energy up for what was coming! The most accurate way I’ve found to portray her personality is  a sparkler.

For the past year I have been reading and referencing to The Womanly Art of Breastfeeding by Diane Wiessinger, Diana West and Teresa Pitman and I love how babies are depicted as sparklers or orchids.  The book mentions that sparklers are high energy and high maintenance, always seeking brain stimulation to shine their brightest.  My little red is absolutely high energy, she plays hard and sleeps hard, but I’ve known that from day one.  What’s currently shocking me is her behavior in situations that are unfamiliar to her.  She proceeds with caution, and almost seems to be timid.  Who would’ve thought the little girl who used to spit when she got mad, (yes I said SPIT) is now the shy kid at the Daddy Daughter Dance? I’ve enjoyed watching her sit back and take in experiences.  I don’t think she’s going to run out onto the dance floor until she is sure she can shine in the way SHE wants to, which gives me confidence in her future.  She’s going to be the kind of girl that is all or nothing.  She is that kind of girl now.  I can’t wait to see what holds her passion as she goes through life.  Currently she’s captivated by changing clothes several times a day, tickling her baby brother, clipping the dog leash to a laundry basket and pretending it’s a dog while dragging it around our house, and going for runs with mommy. But I can assure you big things are coming her way!

Leave a Reply

